• Screen Shot 2014-07-09 at 11.53.49 AM

    Geoffrey O’Connor album trailer

    Geoffrey O’Connor’s magnificent second album Fan Fiction will be released on August 8. As anticipation mounts, Geoffrey has made this tantalising trailer.
  • Screen Shot 2014-07-03 at 11.38.44 AM

    Two new Primitive Calculators videos

    First glimpsed on Primitive Calculators‘ recent hilarious guest programming of all night video institution Rage, now the internet can witness two new videos from the Melbourne synth-punk icons’ 2013 album The World Is Fucked. Both videos have just been premiered via Mess+Noise. The video for Dead was directed by Matthew Ellery, with lighting effects by Tarek Ishak, and was filmed in […]
  • POSTER_1.1

    Geoffrey O’Connor launches new single

    You’ve heard and loved Geoffrey O’Connor’s suave new single Her Name On Every Tongue. You’ve seen the beguiling, chameleonic video (in which he plays everyone from a prisoner to an astronaut). And now you can witness Australia’s own synth-pop superstar live in concert at his upcoming Melbourne single launch! The second single from Geoffrey’s forthcoming album Fan Fiction (after last year’s […]
  • Laura Jean

    Laura Jean premieres ‘First Love Song’

    Melbourne modern folk auteur Laura Jean returns with First Love Song, the lead single from her upcoming self-titled album. Laura recorded the album in the UK with producer John Parish, revered for his work with PJ Harvey over the course of her career. Rising Norwegian artist Jenny Hval sings backing vocals throughout the album. Premiered this week on popmattters.com, First […]
  • Geoffrey OConnor - Her Name Single

    New Geoffrey O’Connor single + video

    Synth-pop star Geoffrey O’Connor outdoes Eddie Murphy in the video for slinky new single Her Name On Every Tongue, playing everyone from a prison warden to an astronaut. The song itself premiered on themusic.com.au on Wednesday, but now you can check out the video premiere via Spin.com, or direct on YouTube! Her Name is the […]
  • Primitive Calculators Host Rage

    Primitive Calculators host Rage!

    “Australia’s most influential band that you’ve never heard of, Primitive Calculators, have a hosting coming up the likes of which you’ve never seen.” Coming up in the late 70′s Melbourne punk scene, these contemporaries of Nick Cave never really fit the mold. They were known for their unwavering commitment to keeping things experimental, organising impromptu shows and being immortalized […]
  • Sylvester Standish For You

    Darren Sylvester is ‘For You’

    Renowned Melbourne artist, musician and Chapter Music superstar Darren Sylvester has just released a 15 minute instrumental track entitled For You. For You is the soundtrack to Darren’s art installation of the same name, and has been a much-talked about feature of the National Gallery of Victoria’s massive Melbourne Now exhibition. For You takes the form of an illuminated dance floor, with […]
  • beach

    Beaches Limited Blue Vinyl Repress of She Beats

    Head over to the Chapter store to pick up your copy of the beautiful new repress of Beaches‘ Australian Music Prize-shortlisted album She Beats, on gorgeous blue vinyl! Get your copy!

    The Stevens + Primitive Calculators album launches

    2013 was a huge year for Chapter Music, our most ginormous ever, and we finished with a bang in the form of our artists totally dominating the end of year best-of lists like bosses. The Ancients, Beaches, Bushwalking, the Cannanes, Darren Sylvester, Dick Diver, Pikelet, Primitive Calculators, Standish/Carlyon and the Stevens all found their way […]
  • hodson_full

    Happy Happy Holidays!

    Hey all, it’s been a big ol whirlwind of a year here at Chapter Music, our biggest ever! We’re feeling festive and are going to take the rest of the year off from sending out mailorders, so feel free to order anything you like from the Chapter webstore, but we won’t be around to send it [...]
  • melbourne-music-week1

    Chapterfest 21 – playing times announced!

    Chapter Music’s 21st birthday party for Melbourne Music Week is almost upon us, and everyone’s getting pretty excited! The Residence, MMW’s purpose-built dome venue extravaganza is taking shape now, and looking amazing. Twerps and Dick Diver have been jamming out their collab set, but still keeping everything under pretty tight wraps, so who knows exactly what they could come […]
  • primitive-calculators-3

    The Stevens + Primitive Calculators album release dates announced!

    The end of the year is upon us, and Chapter Music has had a veritable big one, with 11 albums to be released this year, and one lone EP. Released tomorrow, Friday November 1, the final records to make up our big 12 for 2013 are debut albums by two very different groups, of very […]
  • Individuals-even-borderHIGH

    The Stevens, Primitive Calculators, The Ancients, Darren Sylvester (launches & supports)

    Chapter has had a crazy good year, our biggest ever, and at the start of November we release our two final albums for 2013 – the Stevens’ A History Of Hygiene and Primitive Calculators’ The World Is Fucked. Here are some album launch details for them both, plus fellow Chapter stars Darren Sylvester and the […]

    The Ancients “Night Bus” (release date + Polyester instore!)

    Dreamy Melbourne psych-pop band the Ancients return with third album Night Bus, released on LP (with download code), CD and digital on Friday October 18 on Chapter Music. Melbournites can head to Polyester Records city store at 6pm today (Oct 18) to see a free, all-ages instore! Their first record for Chapter Music, Night Bus is an […]
  • The-Ancients-Video-Still-1118x620

    New videos for The Ancients + Darren Sylvester

    Overnight, two new red-hot videos by Chapter recording megastars the Ancients and Darren Sylvester premiered on uber-hip online culture portals. The Ancients go all Lord of the Dance on the high-entertainment-value video for snappy single “Hey Now”, from their upcoming third album Night Bus. Click on the video still to check it out, or read […]
  • 222687_146269582111428_3726030_n

    Chapterfest 21 feat. Twerps + Dick Diver Collaboration

    Chapter Music turns twenty-one in 2013, so to celebrate our coming of age, we’ve curated a night of new and unexpected pleasures for this year’s Melbourne Music Week, aptly entitled Chapterfest 21! At the Residence, MMW’s custom-built festival hub at Birrarung Marr, Chapter flagship bands Twerps and Dick Diver will come together for a special collaborative set, which […]
  • darrensylvesterpicture

    Darren Sylvester (launches + deluxe packaging!)

    Suave Melbourne art star Darren Sylvester announces launch dates for his acclaimed second album Off By Heart. Darren will play an instore at Polyester Records on the album’s release day, this Friday Oct 4, before heading to Sydney the following night for Goodgod Small Club’s third birthday party (alongside the likes of Standish/Carlyon, Montero and more). […]
  • l_465867627bd75b563e06daf4689037c5

    New Single + Album by The Stevens

    Check out the new Stevens single Hindsight, just premiered on Ad Hoc! And pick up a copy of your own from the Chapter Music Bandcamp. The most exciting new band we at Chapter Music have come across in the last few years is Melbourne scratchy pop foursome the Stevens. Earlier this year we reissued their […]