Twerps release new EP + sign to Merge internationally

Melbourne pop foursome Twerps return with an eight song EP entitled Underlay, released today! It’s the first new material from the band since their much-loved Work It Out/He’s In Stock single from late 2012.

Get your copy here

It’s also the first new material since the arrival of new drummer Alex Macfarlane (also of fellow Chapter act The Stevens).

Underlay captures the band in a fresh, playful mood, galloping through eight songs in 24 minutes. It was recorded by Alex, and mastered by Mikey Young.

The EP’s immediacy belies some of the band’s most assured performances. From the urgent Heavy Hands to the introspective Consecutive Seasons, Underlay is Twerps at their most unaffected and their most beguiling.

Underlay also marks Twerps’ first release on their new international label Merge Records, home to the likes of Arcade Fire, Spoon and Caribou, as well as some of Twerps’ personal favourites such as the Clean and Teenage Fanclub.

Chapter Music will release Underlay on limited edition 12” vinyl (500 copies only), cassette (100 copies only) and digitally for Aus/NZ. Merge Records will release the EP digitally for the rest of the world.

The EP precedes the band’s second full-length album, which will be released in early 2015 by Chapter Music for Aus/NZ, and Merge Records for the rest of the world.

Since their last single Work It Out, Twerps have toured the USA for the third time, played Meredith and Laneway Festivals, toured with Mac De Marco and entered the studio to record their next album.

Get Underlay from the Store!