Guy Blackman and Ben O’Connor are a management team and co-directors of Melbourne record label Chapter Music.

  • Tronc
  • Dick Diver tour T-shirt
  • Our Swan Song
  • Thoughts & Faults
  • A Love Affair With Nature
  • Fairest Of them All
  • Activity
  • Goon Sax T-Shirts

Together they manage Melbourne acts Twerps and Primitive Calculators, while Ben also manages World’s End Press, Crayon Fields, Geoffrey O’Connor and works with Architecture In Helsinki.

Formed by Guy in 1992, with Ben becoming involved in 1995, Chapter Music is one of Australia’s longest running independent labels, with a catalogue of over 100 releases, including records by Twerps, Dick Diver, Pikelet, Crayon Fields, Primitive Calculators, Fabulous Diamonds, Laura Jean and many more.

Initially, Blackman released compilation cassettes of local Perth underground bands, the first of which was Bright Lights, Small City in July 1992. A Sonic Youth tribute tape called Kill Yr Idols! was the label’s next release, followed by a new fanzine called Salty & Delicious.


With Australian music, I think we aren’t very good at remembering the past and valuing our own musical history.

The label released a further eight cassettes (mostly compilations), one CD, and four issues of the fanzine prior to Blackman’s relocation to Melbourne, Australia.

Blackman relocated to Melbourne in mid-1995, where he released Chapter Music’s first seven-inch vinyl single, pressed at Corduroy Records, a new pressing plant in Australia at the time.

The single, a Molasses/Minimum Chips split single, was released in September 1995. This was followed by a seven-inch single by Perth band Sulk, with a third release, a split single for Sleepy Township/Cannanes released in October 1996.

Chapter Music has worked with a broad range of mostly Australian artists, in genres such as rock and roll, indie pop, post punk, country and western and folk.

Between 1992 and 2013, around 45 titles have been released by Chapter Music, including several compilation albums, such as Can’t Stop It! Australian Post-Punk 1978-82 and Songs For Nao.